Sunday, December 15, 2013

Santas Little Helper Written by: Lacey Kane


Hello readers, wow, just um...wowzer this a book that will cause all types of blushing and moments of pause. This author does not write romance, absolutely doesn't, as she states in the back of this book. To quote "There is nothing even remotely romantic about my stories. What you will find in the pages of my work is BDSM, smut, often consists of dubious consent, and is sometimes rather harsh." This book readers even has a disclaimer stating you might be offended with the story and all that it entails. So, it's Christmas time, you're working as an elf and will be spending your Holiday single since your jerk boyfriend and you have called it quits. So, now Santa also known as the gorgeous toned Josh gets word that one of his poker buddies has just backed out and asks Tara also known as Santa's little helper to come and fill in. Sure, why not? After all Josh is hot and you've got no plans so why not? So, it all sounds great until when Tara arrives and four men begin undressing her literally... does she want what they're offering? It isn't poker, but it does involve the table, and a bunch of other toys, locations, and did I mention four men? This is quite the short tale, I mean wow, usually erotic tales like this are but a single scene and the big finale and nothing more, this though had a beginning to lull us in and then things quickly escalated and just when you think okay that's done, phew...wowzer, it continues, and continues and continues....phew. Your toes will curl you may bite your lip and you'll probably leave with quite a few ideas and maybe be a little surprised at yourself but damn. This is not a romantic tale readers it's really just about sex and heavy kink like wow... I was a little afraid at times. Still, if you want a very kinky BDSM tale with a not so Christmas theme...then by all means check this tale out. Phew... I say...phew.


Saturday, December 14, 2013

All She Wants 4 Christmas Written by: Jessica Lee


Evening readers, so, what would you do if all your darkest desires or not even all of your desires, but just the darkest one came true on Christmas Eve? What if instead of the classic night with loved ones, baked cookies, Santa's elves, and the Big guy who laughs like he has a bowl full of jelly...what if instead of having that for your Christmas eve you had lace, blindfolds, teddy's, handcuffs, and sheer bliss? For Monica Sims she wants all that as she has been wishing that once just once her fiance would just step outside of his comfort zone. Monica loves her fiance but she wants more, and one night she took a risk and shares with him her darkest fantasy..Domination. Submission. Surrendering to the will of more than one man. But, Monica believes perhaps her confession was a bit too much for her fiance. But, Dane knows exactly what he wants in bed....vanilla sex is all he ever needed, but then he saw something something that made him realize something. Dane is now determined to unleash his fiance's control and he wants to take her to very special place a very special fetish club, and they won't be alone. This was quite the tale indeed and it will definitely get your blood pumping and the imagination stirring. Not a bad way to enjoy Christmas Eve eh? This a short tale but quite enjoyable.

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Live by Night: A Novel Written by: Dennis Lehane

Why hello readers, here we are at book 101! Broke my record from last year J Phew, I was actually a little worried because it’s tough to read this many books! So, 101 , and a few short weeks from the Big “C” day. I’m excited, but even I can only take so much holiday books, music, movies, etc… needed something a bit different again and so I went a hunting and had the pleasure of listening to another one of Dennis Lehane’s books! Yes! I looooved this book  fellow book readers. It was awesome! The narrator Jim Frangione really did an amazing job with his voices, accents, and voice intonations his voice reminded me so much of the actor Alan Alda that I had a tough time not picturing him! This book had a lot of history, a lot, the scene is set it’s the roaring 1920’s and a time to be a young outlaw with nothing but your wits, street smarts and connections to make it big. Even though Prohibition is enforced American’s know what they want and they want liquor, beer, wines, and they love Rum, and where’s there’s a market and a buyer there’s a market even if it’s got to be illegal, which makes it even more desirable because readers we all want what we can’t have no? This may seem like an old story that’s been done before, but with the meticulous research done by Lehane you can’t help but feel like you are witnessing history first hand as he pulls you into this world of prohibition, gangsters, and the emerging power families and groups. We have a young Irish guy with plenty of swagger and desire to live by the nights rules. Joe Coughlin is the main character in this tale and Lehane has us follow Joe throughout Boston’s underbelly and continues to educate us about this time period and world from within the walls of Charlestown Prison all the way to the sweltering Tampa Waterfront. There’s something different about Joe from other outlaw and gangsters he’s all about the bottom line and making a profit, but where other’s would solve most of their problems with a bullet Joe doesn’t seem to want to do this and of course there’s a dame, there’s always a dame readers, and of course this dame is Trouble with a capital T. If you want a bit of historic insight even if it’s fiction there’s a lot that was quite accurate in this telling and just how fast the world can change year by year, day by day, and second by second… one minute you can be alive and the next well the next you might not be. I’m sad to say this is the second book in a trilogy!  GAH! This is the second time I have done this with a Lehane book, but readers I don’t think I suffered at all as the story was so good and the cast of characters seemed to come and go to the point that is stands alone just fine.  It’s quite amazing just how Joe Coughlin lives his life and the rules he chooses to obey and the ones he breaks. There’s a lot of life questions that comes into play a lot of soul searching and you might find yourself wondering if you should like Joe, I honestly found myself cheering the guy on. A masterful read that totally lives up to his other book I had the pleasure of reading recently.

Monday, December 9, 2013

Secret Santa A Bluegrass Series Novel Written by: Kathleen Brooks


Why hello there readers, the countdown continues J I’ve been addressing Christmas cards, wrapping presents, and prepping for my hubbies and mines annual Friends’ Holiday potluck party. I love creating traditions with my hubby and being able to spend the holiday with both friends and family. And, I love present shopping, why? Well it’s fun to just look around and know just know that’s so your friend sure most of my gifts are goofy, but it’s fun and it’s a gift.  Ah, so as I’m reading this most recent book I couldn’t help but think to myself …do places like this really exist? I mean really? Maybe it’s because since I’ve been 20 I’ve never lived anywhere for more than two years and I’m a renter without kids, but do communities like Keeneston really exist? This book was part of a larger series, but I couldn’t help reading it because the Christmas book in long series tends to be oh so cute and answer questions in the series that other readers have been dying to know, and I get to know it without having read this series…mwahahahahahaha! So, Keeneston is a lovely town and I was introduced to quite a large cast of characters for those of you who possibly read this series I’ll give you a quick peek at the books jacket description. “Kenna’s court docket is full, Dani’s hiding from her in-laws, Paige and Annie are about to burst from pregnancy, and Marshall is breaking up fights at the PTA Christmas Concert. The Sweet potato casserole is made, the ham and biscuits are on the table, and men are losing their shirts, and not because of bets placed with the Rose Sisters! All the while, the entire town is wondering one thing: who is the Secret Santa that showed up with special gifts for everyone?” Whew, right, I got to meet these delightful cast of characters for a brief moment. Quite the happy close knit community and oh so precious was each of these stories. I could relate to a few too, so it wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows, well… for a few moments and then it was but it’s nice to read a story that’s happy and sweet and makes you believe that towns with close communities could be this good. A delightful read that will leave you feeling a bit like you’ve been transported to  the inside of a Hallmark card.

Sunday, December 8, 2013

Chill Factor Written by: Sandra Brown


Hello readers, well though it feels like spring or early fall here in New England I thought let’s read something with a little chill and Terror to offset all of that gooey happy Christmas Spirit..I keep reading all the sweet stuff I’ve been reading my soul is going to gain a cavity…okay that was lame, but I’m going to leave what I wrote and that’s all there is to it. Can you tell I’m uber excited? No? Well I am! I just finished listening to, yes listening, it’s so much easier to listen to a book while I walk to my office and home, and then while I run…why didn’t I realize audio books were so convenient before? I even listen to book at my office while I’m working, of course I listen to my news and podcasts first, but ahhh books! Okay, in this recent book Sandra Brown created quite the twisty, suspenseful, and scary tale. Five women have gone missing readers in a very unexpected place this sleepy mountain town in North Carolina called Cleary. And readers, if that wasn’t chilling enough there is a blue ribbon left near where each woman was last seen, and the police have no leads, and it’s been two years this has been going on for. Enter Lilly Martin whom has returned to Clearly to close the sale on her cabin, but an accident occurs and she strikes a man with her car… that man is Ben Tierney whom oddly emerges from the woods right before a blizzard. These two have no choice but to wait out a brutal blizzard in the previously mentioned cabin, and as the hours of confinement tick by Lily wonders if the greater threat to her safety isn’t the storm, but perhaps Tierney besides her? This readers had it all, this book had mystery, horror, love, drama, secrets, adventure, loss, bigotry, hypocrisy, and action! I mean wowza, some of the characters in this book were so unlikeable I was falling in love with this town, to think such a beautiful little town would be so debased behind closed doors. There are three characters in particular I just wanted to punch and scream at, if I were to ever meet these men in the real world you bet your fanny’s readers I’d kick there’s, just ugh so gross, and nauseating these characters Brown has created and introduced to us. The narrator Stephen Lang was quite good too, I didn’t overly care for his female voices, but that happens a lot, his talent in creating the core of the characters was amazing though, I really wanted to hate each character individually because he gave them such a distinct quality in their pitch, tone, voice. So Good job Mr. LangThe plot of the story is so much fun to follow from the beginning to the middle to the very end I was trying to get a fix on what exactly was going on and how exactly this was going to end, why didn’t these pieces fit right? Also, as it happens quite often I visually saw myself flapping my arms and trying to get the characters to listen to me and pay attention, but even had they been able to hear me, I was wrong a few times too readers. This author definitely kept me guessing, I love that! The clues Brown withholds and gives us are just too good to ignore, speculation is a dangerous thing my fellow readers and so is gossip… circumstantial that’s what it is. Chill Factor had me pulling my scarf tighter around my neck and me practicing drawing my individual knives on my person for practice and for comfort because you never know when there’s someone waiting for you or watching you… of course thankfully this was only a story and this couldn’t really happen, but that’s where it’s genius because this does happen! Quite terrifying in its realism and band of characters acting out this mysteriously terrifying tale. A must read definitely.

Saturday, December 7, 2013

Christmas With My Grinch Written by: Blmorticia


Allo fellow book readers. So, what to say about this short story? Well, Bahambug! Nathan Ellerby hates Christmas! His lover, retired LT. Bryant Duncan is however all about Christmas and everything that goes with it, and he is ready to celebrate. However, Nathan has other ideas of how he wants to spend his well deserved time off for the Holidays. So, this was an erotic tale indeed readers, but though it had a lot of crass talk and a few sexy moments this wasn't really all that good. The story had a bit of promise and the scenes set well enough but the actual execution was fairly poor and read more like a bunch of updates on someone's social network page...just was missing a bit of content and just felt a bit flat. Still, if you're looking for two handsome men whom are madly in love with one another and a few minutes to spare then sure pick this up for a fast five minutes.

Friday, December 6, 2013

Kissing Santa Written by: Aithne Jarretta


Who doesn’t know someone at Christmas time that is estranged from a family member or thinks about that lost love the one that got away? During this holiday season you run into a lot of this, these people can be happy and perfectly fine, but a few of them sometimes well sometimes they want a little more. Maybe they want to make up with that family member who they went gaga crazy with over an epic game of scategories. Or, maybe they want to see their high school crush and finally confess how much they love them and have missed them… whatever it is readers, this time of year just seems to make people want to confess, indulge, and create magic. In this short and I mean short tale Lily Johnson has been estranged from her family for quite a few years over the issue of a certain love interest. This though, could be the Christmas she finally reunites with them and a certain old flame. Chrisopher Crin known by friends as “Cringle” has been waiting for Lily it seems all this time, but will the storm of the century prevent him from reuniting with this true love? Readers, this was short and there was some odd plot put into this story a few moments where you were like huh? Magic? Wait, what? Huh? Okay, guess we aren’t going to touch upon what you the writer just presented us with. I actually thought perhaps I had downloaded the preview of this story and not the actual story when I began reading, but it’s amateur in this story, but cute none the less. If you want a quick before bedtime tale to tell the kiddies or yourself this isn’t a bad little tale to go to bed with.

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Naughty But Nice A short Story Written by: Kenny Wright


Allo there readers, okay, after having taken a little detour I decided to go back to the Christmas Theme in my reading, this tale was oh so amusing. Elf ears...a kink, who knew? For Dan the photographer at the Santa display in the mall Tolkien ladies are sexy. Dan is really good at what he does and creates wonderful photographs, but lately he just can't get this feeling of wanting more than just capturing other peoples' happy moments. And then she walked into his shop...Dan has been having a fantasy involving elf ears, Santa's chair, and a gorgeous woman and it seems that might just happen for him readers. This is a sweet story with only the slightest bit of kink, but sometimes it's about location, location, location folks. An entertaining and memorable encounter and fantasy for those of you who may be just a bit frazzled by the lines at the mall Santa's photo shop and need to drift off for a moment and ease some of that holiday tension.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

The Shack Written by Paul Young


Hello readers, wow, I feel like a mean lean reading machine, bring on the books! I’ve got to say… I found this book painful to listen to it was almost too much to finish, this just wasn’t my kind of book, I thought it was the description sounded creative and a bit playful, in a murderous kind of way. But, I was led to a book that just isn’t me. Mackenzie Allen Phillips’s youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during her family vacation, and evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later, in the midst of his great sadness, Mack receives a suspicious note, apparently from God, inviting him back to that shack for a weekend. Against his better judgment he arrives at the shack on wintry afternoon and walks back into his darkest nightmare. What he finds there will change his life forever. Okay, so I have to admit the beginning of this book had me hooked it’s about this gentlemen whose nobody of real importance he had a hard lot in life and was given a really short stick and made the most of what he had…even if that put red in his ledger. Still, okay it’s a pleasant/unpleasant enough tale and this could be anyone you’re reading about readers because “Mac” is just an average guy. Then things begin to change readers…this was a really heavy on the religion book. I mean wowza, I get the message the author is going for really I do, and a lot of it I can respect, but what took so many hours to tell and go through could have been done in such a shorter time I get Mac has to make this journey to find his way, but the message is just spouted over and over again…sure I’m not one for organized religion or religion in general, but I’m all for people being good to one another, but this was just OKAY I GOT IT, can we please move on now? I was absolutely ready to write this book off the middle to end was just a repeat of Macs thoughts, feelings, and him getting the message given to him, but then something happened. I continued listening to the audio book which the actual book was read by Roger Mueller not a bad reader, but not overly great either, his crying scenes didn’t touch me so much as agitate me at times, he just wasn’t convincing to me in his anguish, but not a bad narrator. So, after the book ends the author comes on and talks, he’s definitely a religious man and stands by his writing and beliefs. I can respect that, but this book wasn’t really meant for me, if you’re religious though in the Christian sense and enjoy a good philosophical book with a message of love and community then this is a book for you. For me not so much.  

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Running with Scissors a memoir Written by: Augusten Burroughs


Well readers, much as I love this holiday season I would not be me without a little sarcasm and bitterness at that. This readers is Burroughs first memoir I've read three of his so far and his first novel, but I finally picked up the one that started it all. This book left me feeling a bit grimy like Burrough's life sloshed off on me a little, where previous books I read had some resolutions and a resolve to the issues of Burrough's life this book his first one was quite educational. This book is the true story of a boy whose delusional poet mother gave him away to be raised by her unorthodox psychiatrist who bore a striking resemblance to Santa Clause. You really can't make this up readers...again I don't know how much of this is true, but if it is all true then damn...so creepy and even if a fraction is true ahh! So Burroughs finds himself among a very unconventional family a Doctors family living in squalor and befriends himself a pedophile who is only allowed to live in the backyards shed... this is a life of true freedom readers where rules and restrictions do not exist where one is expected to not be repressed and to be a free spirit. Augusten also has a brother whom is the complete opposite where Augusten dreams of grandeur, titles, and perfect hair his brother according to his mother's doctor was so mentally ill he couldn't help him.... Augusten's brother's response "Huh, I feel okay." It seems that the lack of structure and the over amount of available freedom bestowed upon Augusten left him with a lack of actual freedom. This was just wow, it was so twisted and either you laughed readers or wanted to scream. I can't say that I really enjoyed this book more like I digested it and kept looking away mouthing WTF? The writing is clever and the life of Augusten Burroughs was just completely off the rails to the point I am just in awe of this man's life even after having read two other books about him

Monday, December 2, 2013

Perfect Written by: Autumn Jordan

Hello fellow readers, I hope you’re all enjoying your first few days of December, I must admit this is a mixed time for me, I’ve lost a few people over the years to December, but it is also a wonderful time of year full of great memories and sometimes I find it hard to not get caught up in the holiday cheer. To me Christmas is a time of family and friends and merry making, granted I do that a lot in general, but at this time of year I get to have bright lights, lots of red, and spiked eggnog…so yeah. It is also a season of reflection, last year I lost one of my best friends since my sandbox day, he was truly a wonderful person and I believe I will always feel his loss as will all those who knew him will, but he was a person who taught me to embrace things including myself. Believe it or not readers there was a period of time I used to read even more and get lost in books rather than face reality, he, my friend taught me that even the mundane could be fun again. So, I found this little holiday book to bring my morose and contemplating self back to the happy side of things Perfect, was just that, perfect. Dylan Kincaid a bachelor whom is now the caretaker of his two young nieces while his brother and sister in law are off serving their country royally screwed up Thanksgiving, but is determined to make Christmas better. This guy ladies and gentlemen is just wowza, he’s handsome, artistic, rugged, friendly, and oh so much more. Then there’s Darcy Witherspoon whom is down on her luck, but a successful restaurant owner/chef and oh so gorgeous and quite fun. Both of these two are looking to have a happy Holiday and so meeting up in Black Moose, VT they team up to make a perfect Christmas, but due to life’s circumstances neither is interested in an affair, but readers perhaps the magic of Christmas has something more for these two? Just read this book next to a picturesque window by the light of a fire and the twinkling lights of your Christmas tree with the wrapped presents reflecting everything. This was just one of those happy and enjoyable story. Sure, there’s a little hiccup here or there but every character and every scene is just so friendly so magical it’s what everyone dreams of when they think of Christmas to just be happy and surrounded by those whom you care about and whom care about you. Sure, Christmas now of days doesn’t just happen it needs a little help, but you don’t need the biggest and flashiest decorations and gifts to make it special traditions are nice, but sometimes new traditions need to be made. The writing itself was okay there were quite a few editing mistakes but these hiccups didn’t take away or ruin the book for me. This is a book filled with maple syrup, fine food, decorations, cookies, and a whole lot of love in this small secluded town in VT. If you want to get into the Christmas spirit and have some fun then this is definitely a holiday read for you. This story with all its cavity inducing sweetness but down to earth attitude really helped me remember a lot of good about my friend and the holidays. I miss him, but there’s a lot of good memories with him including silly Christmas events. So, December is here and we begin the countdown readers.

Saturday, November 30, 2013

Christmas with the Alexanders The Alexanders, Book 3.5 Written by: M. Malone


Hello readers, second book of the Christmas season, and oh how guilty I feel simply because it's not even December yet, but seeing as my parents are here and I don't see them that often and never see them at Christmas time we decide to celebrate out Xmas right after Thanksgiving we're creating a new family tradition just for us especially since my brother is rarely if ever around for the Holidays since his line of work demands him to not be around for the Holidays. So, where am I going with this? Well, I downloaded a Christmas book that I now realize was part of a series, but it was a cute tale all the same. We are introduced to the Alexander family, from what I read of this family they are the perfect example of all that is good and perfect with a family, and Kaylee Wilhelm at some point made a connection to this family. Kaylee wants Elliott Alexander to notice her, but it seems that he doesn't like her much, so she's spending the holidays with her disapproving parents. Some event occurs and Elliott Alexander is finally in the position to come home for good, but for Alexander this means bittersweet memories and the only woman who makes him feel things he isn't ready for. Then readers a bad storm and a lack of diapers causes Kaylee to reach out to Elliott and Elliott finds himself wishing to protect Kaylee. As I said readers I just completely dropped myself into this series and it's clear a whole lot of back story and perhaps some past references, but the the author Malone was really good at keeping me up to speed. This was a charming Christmas tale that showed it is more than gifts it is about those who you love be they family or friends. Not a complex or overly in depth story, but cute all the same, I may try to check out this series from the beginning and continue learning about this new cast of characters, but a good story to keep me on the Christmas season path.



Friday, November 29, 2013

The Christmas Train Written by: David Baldacci



Hello readers, well we're approaching another season, yup that special time of year, granted I love all the seasons and all the holidays, but for a lot of people this is the one, and this is the time of year for a lot of people that talking to that complete stranger isn't such a weird idea. Why not get to know a complete stranger and let them into your life? It's funny reader, when you become familar with an author you grow to know their cadence their style of writing how they will have the words flow how the plot will develop and conclude... I've only read one book by David Baldacci actually I listend and so I borrowed another book from my Father in laws audible library. I didn't even look at the author I just went "Christmas" okay I can trust Bruce it will be good, and well after a few chapters I knew just KNEW this was David Baldacci. Mr. Baldacci must also have a type of person that he likes to read his book because Tim Matheson the narrator of this story had such a similar voice to the other book I listened to by Baldacci. The people who created this audio book did an amazing job with music, sound affects, and background noise. The story itself was something of a story within a story within a story I was very happy to take a journey with every one of these passangers on the trains crossing the United States. We are introduced to the ex war journalist .... whom is looking for something in his life, he's without family and is feeling lost he's not quite sure what he is missing, but he does believe what he has to show for his life is pretty sad. Baldacci does at times become preachy about train travel, but he does share some interesting facts with us. The crazy cast of characters are so fun to be around and the story as a whole is just something that is truly fascinating and awesome in it's grand and fun design. This is a feel good let's get in the Christmas holiday mood, and will have you ready to be with your loved ones and want to perhaps spread some of your own holiday cheer.

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Moonlight Mile Written by: Dennis Lehane


Why hello readers, only one more day until Turkey and I am counting down the hours, I love Turkey absolutely loooove it (at least I do until I eat way too much of it every Thanksgiving)…and it’s the one Holiday I’m never traveling somewhere for, my family comes to me and It’s awesome. It seems readers I randomly stumbled into a sequel, and into an acclaimed authors world. I had the pleasure of listening to Moonlight Mile written by Dennis Lehane. What a setting this author creates I found myself walking down the streets of my town the darkness falling early so I try to walk in the light but in my area there are always shadows, and having this book inside of my head really added some extra ambiance to my experience especially in the windy cold and rain. I admit I really didn’t recognize the name and it wasn’t until after that I realized this was the sequel to Gone, Baby, Gone… oh boy, or that this author wrote Mystic River, The Given Day, or Shutter Island…which I’ve read none of these, but I’ve seen Shutter Island and thought hm..that looks like a book I’d like to read. Okay, so this book…wowza what a fun book…okay if the underbelly and depressing truth about Boston and its suburbs is fun, but in a way Lehane made it so. I was introduced to Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro this is quite the suspenseful book and is an explosive story of vengeance and redemption. Years ago Patrick and Angela turned over a little girl to a highly neglectful mother and quite the depressing environment even though they knew they were returning her to a bad home they did their job. Now though Amanda McCready 16 years old is missing. Patrick and Angela have to work together and put aside old issues and focus on the now and hopefully they won’t have to make another rough decision concerning Amanda’s future and life. The main character and voice of the book Patrick, you just felt for this guy and really like him readers, the guy is savy and a bit slick, and clearly is good at what he does, but he's in a young mans game, and it seems Patrick though good isn't quite so young anymore. I really liked Angela too she's oh so sexy and yet oh so down to earth she can be the bad girl or the computer genius a deadly combination. I loved this book readers! It takes place in my backyard and I go to quite a few of the areas mentioned in this book and the writing was just so real so crisp and sure brings a lot of the city that I loves underbelly into play. It’s also a tale that deals with the problem with the black and white world there’s a whole lot of gray in the world and sometimes doing the right thing isn’t doing the right thing. No one I know lives in a perfectly happy world readers, there’s always something there to remind you that the World has a very dark side a very scary side and it can invade your world no matter how well you live or how good you behave. But, this book also shows that sometimes you can wade into the gray of things and still sleep just fine at night afterwards, because you did do the right thing, maybe on black and white paper it wouldn’t look it, but in your heart you knew it was your only choice. This audio book was voiced by Jonathan Davis and I admit I was put off a little bit by this voice actor, his voice itself was awesome, but his accents were all over the place I mean just all over and sometimes he lost which character he was and had to slip back into the voice he was doing. The slip ups in voice acting didn’t take away from the writing or the story the book was just fabulous and I definitely didn’t see a lot of what was coming in the plot even at the very end this author held just the right amount of mystery in his hands and unleashed it in an electrifying ending that fizzles out with a grace I could really appreciate. I may just have to read those other books I spoke of earlier. Oh also readers forgive me this book takes place right before Christmas, I know! It’s not quite Turkey time, but…I didn’t know! Still Thanksgiving comes into play too so perhaps it was just the right book to make you truly appreciate what you have and could lose.

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

More Than Friends Written by: Aria Grace


Hello readers, well let's jump right in shall we? We find ourselves viewing Ryan Edwards life he has recently become a free man as in no longer attached. Ryan had been until recently in a four year committed relationship, but after three years of trying to juggle a long distance relationship, school and work, it just didn't work out. Now, Paul...Ryan's co-worker who is quite the horn dog is trying to get Ryan back into the dating game or at least the casual hook up game. Ryan is ready to get out of this single funk, more than ready, but he's just not interested in other girls it seems. So one night Ryan thinks perhaps he just might have found a girl to get out of this single funk, but Drea though quite attractive just isn't doing it for him and somehow Ryan finds himself more interested in Zach, Drea's cousin. Drea's Gay cousin as Ryan later learns. Ryan isn't gay, but he is drawn to Zach and finds himself wanting to spend more time with Zach and maybe just maybe something is there? What is Ryan to do? A very hot and exploitative read my fellow readers and oh so sweet. I very much enjoyed this book and you might just find yourself becoming a bit hot and bothered about these romantic and oh so graphic moments.

Monday, November 25, 2013

Shadow Tag Written by: Louise Erdrich


Hello readers, have you ever heard a tune and knew just knew this song will not have a happy ending? That is how Shadow Tag the audio version begins. We begin on a day in November, Irene America is a mother of three children two boys and a girl and she is quite the descriptive woman. Irene is the wife of an successful artist whom is handsome and she is beautiful they have a wonderful home and live an artist life. But, it seems readers looks can be quite deceiving, what appears to be a loving marriage filled with passion it seems is without trust. Irene has discovered that her husband Gil, has been reading her diary, and to Irene this is the last straw the break in her trust, she is Gil’s muse his subject matter in all of his art she bares her body, soul, and life to the world through Gil’s paintings. And yet, Gil wants more he wants to be inside of his wife’s  very mind, and to prove she’s keeping a secret affair from him. So, Irene begins to keep a secret Blue Notebook, she has stashed this book safely in a safe-deposit box. There Irene records the truth about her life and marriage. But, Irene continues to write inside of her Red Diary where she knows Gil will find it and turns this Diary into a manipulative piece of work. Both Irene and Gil are trying to keep up appearances for their three children, but their home is becoming a place of increasing violence and the children are noticing these events more and more. Irene it seems is turning more and more to alcohol and it seems is bent on her own destruction. This readers is a sad tale, it’s written quite poetically but it is just sad when you see these stories over and over again. Both Gil and Irene are clearly lost individuals and need help, but it appears they don’t know how to even admit that to themselves, there is a lot of blame going on and a lot of denial and a whole lot of lies. This story was so frustrating too readers, the relationship Gil and Irene has is almost text book in the abuse and failed attempts to heal a broken relationship. This book also brings a bit of the Native American culture and questions of identity into the mix as well as the struggle with coming from a rough background and trying to realize that it is okay now we can be happy now we can move on… So many people I know readers never realize when it is okay to just be to just accept the good when you have had a life full of so much disappointment and so much pain it becomes a part of you. So, when that pain is gone when it’s not part of the now, how do you separate it from you? That pain, that life before the one you created for yourself is who made you whom you are today, so how does someone survive that and just leave it all behind? Perhaps you don’t have physical scars from these events and perhaps you don’t share them with the world, but they’re there and they were you at one point, and sometimes we pass that pain on. We’re following Irene, but this muse, this wife, this mother has a lot to overcome and yet she can’t let go of Gil and Gil refuses to let go of her after all he loves her. Narrated by Coleen Marlo whom really brought this story to life and gave Irene such a real voice and all the characters a life of their own...I especially loved her becoming unhinged Irene voice. Not exactly the tale of family one usually wishes to read before the Thanksgiving Holiday, but it does put some things in life into perspective readers. Erdrich really created a good and uneasy read that was quite graphic and hits a lot of issues right on the head.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

A Stranger in Wynnedower Written by: Grace Greene

Hello readers, brr it’s getting brisk in this area, and I absolutely love all the wonderful small and crisp smells. I tell you I have the pleasure of passing a shop that has fresh baked break in the morning that combined with the aromas of people’s coffees and teas from their respective coffee shops is just so tantalizing. The smells and crisp cool winds just make me want to walk on by my office and loop my walk and keep on walking. Have you guessed yet that I adore this season? So, I decided with this time of year when the flowers are fading, the days becoming shorter, and the shadows lengthening perhaps it was time to read a tale with mystery involved. A Stranger In Wynnedower was the most recent book I had the pleasure of reading, though readers this was an interesting book in the fact yes it was a mystery, but it was also a bit of a love story. I found myself reading about Rachel Sevier, a thirty two year old inventory specialist with the most striking golden brown eyes and a no nonsense haircut who has a jack of all trades knack for life. Rachel my dear readers is looking to change her life, she’s hoping to surprise her brother at the Southern Gothic estate called Wynnendower in Virginia, but before she visits her brother he stops returning her calls. Rachel is perplexed and quite worried and upon arrival Rachel discovers her brother Jeremy has vanished and now she finds Jack Wynne the mansion’s bad tempered and short spoken owner. Jack is not at all happy to have Rachel at his home and is angry with her brother for taking off from his care taker responsibilities without a word. Jack Wynne is a large man who is quite grisly in his nature and demeanor but there’s a certain attractiveness in his form, and Jack has his own plans concerning his life. Jack is tired of being responsible for everyone and everything, and he wants to be free of those obligations.  Now, he has this woman Rachel snooping around searching for her irresponsible brother, but Jack allows Rachel to stay and wait for Jeremy. There’s a lot going on behind the scenes and even though Rachel has a knack for taking inventory and organizing things it appears there is quite a bit she’s not being told about Wynnedower. It’s a cute read my fellow book readers, there’s some interesting things going on in the background, but the author leaves so much for us to imagine and keep the air of mystery thick that some of the plot seems to have been lacking where some detail and dramatic moments could have been added, and for as hard Greene tried to keep the truth from surfacing I figured out what was going on pretty darn quick but maybe some of you will or would take longer to discover the secrets Wynnedower has to share? A wonderful read to pass these beautiful fall mornings, afternoons, and evenings readers.

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

The Twelve Book 2 in the Passage Trilogy written by: Justin Cronin

We’ve gone round in a circle…well more like a figure eight well more like a figure eight on acid.  What is life worth to you fellow readers? How much would you fight for a better life? Would you join your enemy? Would you fight them at the cost of your life of the ones you love life’s? Would you just shut all the bad away and escape within your mind? What would you do?  It seems that after everything the end of the world was only the beginning and we’ll have to live in past, present, and future. In Justin Cronin’s The Twelve, book two in the Passage Trilogy. Every character readers will be important every event will interlock and become part of this world’s both old and new story. In the present day we are following a woman called Lila who is an expectant mother who is so shattered by the spread of the government made infection and violence that she ignores reality to a degree of constantly painting and prepping for her unborn baby. There are others readers an ex solider whom will be known as “Last Stand in Denver.” Will also be warped into this new reality and become someone he never planned to be. Then there’s April a teenager is fighting to protect her little brother and all three will realize something that should bring comfort they are not fully abandoned they are not alone, but what If what’s coming for them isn’t the salvation they need? What if their salvation will bring about more darkness?  Then we morph to the future a hundred years to be precise, and we are faced with Amy, after the last book I thought readers maybe things would be better for this poor girl? It seems that way, but there are always the Twelve and Zero. Amy and the others fight on for humankind’s salvation, but even they can’t realize the enemy has changed the rules. The monsters are evolving and humans are losing hope some are even joining the monsters for just a promise of more life. This readers is where the ultimate sacrifice will be made as the future that the Twelve are trying to make for the world is more horrifying than man’s extinction. If these Twelve man made monsters are to be vanquished then someone or some people will need to make even more sacrifices. This book was absolutely thrilling readers, I had to pay extra close even though Scott Brick the reader was so crisp and clear in his dialogue truly an excellent narrator, but the words Cronin uses the sheer detail and interlocking plots are just so vast that you need to really pay attention.  My mind felt like it was floating at times readers living in multiple times and through multiple people and at times the same people Cronin does a wonderful job at evolving his characters and the plot, but sometimes things became just a tad jumbled especially towards the end, what the heck was that all about? What is going on? What exactly happened? I am not sure readers, but I absolutely cannot wait to find out.

Monday, November 11, 2013

Sandman Overture by: Neil Gaiman & J.H. Williams III


Hello readers, so, this is what I was given...."Discover the events leading up to Morpheus’ capture at the beginning of the SANDMAN series with this prequel limited series by the legendary Neil Gaiman and award-winning artist J.H. Williams III." Yup, that's it, and yet I knew just KNEW I HAD TO READ THIS COMIC! Thanks to my friend for given this to me for my b.day...she knows me so well. I never review individual comics readers, I usually wait for the trade paperback or the hardcover containing many of the trade paperbacks to review a comic series, but this is a special case indeed, because this is Morepheus! Dream! And all of the other endless! I fell in love with this author Neil Gaiman through his comic series many years ago, it was just so different from anything else I had ever read from the comic universe just so dark, dreamy, disjointed, and yet soooo fascinating. And, though it's been many years since the Sandman series ended Neil Gaiman and J.H. Williams III has brought us back into their universe(s) Let us not forget the other artists, letterers, editors, etc... either Dave McKean, Dave Stewart, Todd Klein, Gregory Lockard, Karen Berger, Shelly Bond, and the other two original creators Sam Kieth and Mike Dringenberg. For those of you who have been waiting to see more of the Sandman's story or rather "Dream's" story you won't be disapointed by this revival and though the comic itself raises maaaaaany new questions it also is creating a wonderful set up. I absolutely enjoyed stepping back into this radical world full of color and yet devoid of it at times too the artists have each page changing never quite allowing us to get our footing, and the story does the same too. It I believe readers will be quite the adventure, and I so look forward to seeing where we will end up will it be the beginning or end?

Sunday, November 10, 2013

After Dead, What came next in The World Of Sookie Stackhouse Written by: Charlaine Harris



It's funny readers I was so ready to put this series to bed to just let go and be happy the world of Sookie was over. But, then...Charlaine Harris brought this book into the picture my gosh. Sooooo this isn't a novel readers not one little bit, but it does put quite a few peoples stories to rest from A to Z literally. It was interesting and a little weird reading about characters and their lives and how many of theirs continued or ended. What took Charlaine 13 books to flesh out and give us only took her a few sentences to end. I've seen Japanese/Korean/etc... manga do this type of book so it wasn't completely alien to me, but it was different for a novella series. Still, for this being the "Final End" Harris gave us a few clues to us readers that maybe just maybe she's not done with the universe she created, and maybe just maybe we will be seeing more of this world and a few characters we're familiar with perhaps? This is an incredibly fast read, but it is interesting just how Harris chose to do this and answer questions about second, third, even fourth primary characters. A delightful look indeed and another way to say goodbye for now to this delightful world.

Friday, November 8, 2013

Dark Lover A Novel of The Black Dagger Brotherhood Written by: J.R. Ward


Allo readers, my well, talk about reading two books where the authors have completely different interpretations of a classic supernatural being. After having read a certain dark book I though, hm... well what else do I have here? So I picked up a book one of my gf's lent me, she didn't tell me it was part of a series or that it was so...spicy. Granted, looking at the cover of this book and the title I could only assume there was going to be some face fanning while reading this book. Oh my :insert silly giggling girl smile: In Caldwell NY there's a battle going on that's spanned the centuries since a race was born from the Scribe Virgin a race known as Vampires, but readers there's a new twist here, there's magic, birth, loyalty, oaths, and all around mystic to this special race separate from humans. These are not the sexy vampires whom drink the blood of humans to survive...well okay they're pretty damn sexy, but these vampires can only survive by drinking the blood of their own kind, and not kill them, just a sip and you're good to go. However, these vampires are being hunted by soulless creatures whom only want them dead just because they exist. Which brings us to Wrath the only purebred vampire left on the planet, and he has a score to settle with these slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, even the mighty Wrath has to stand by as one of his bravest brothers is killed orphaning a half-breed daughter unaware of her heritage or her fate. Now, Wrath must take this beautiful female into this world of his this world of fighting and blood shed. Beth, she is racked by a restlessness in her body and has always been alone, but Beth Randall is now forced to no longer be alone. Now Beth is helpless against the dangerously sexy man who comes to her at night with shadows in his eyes she has to deal with these new emotions and the possibility of a new life. There's a lot of information for an entire race and their culture that is transposed over our own world. Plus some serious chemistry going on between this fierce ancient warrior and strong independent journalist. I very much enjoyed this book and had to fan my face a few times to keep my blush from creeping up after all it always comes down to a lover doesn't it readers? Some serious dark shit going on here too, so for those of you who like a little pain, action, explosions, and danger total buzz there too. And so I see I've possibly started yet again another series, but seriously cool take on the Vamp world.

Thursday, November 7, 2013

The Passage Written by: Justin Cronin


It's that time again readers, the time when the Earth begins to sleep, well at least those areas that are subject to such seasons, still for my region this works. We have our safety from the darkness we have our lights, our walls, our heat, our modern creations against most illness and can hold back death for so much longer now when a 100 years ago many of us would likely perish. But, what happens when the lights don't protect us? When we are no longer safe from the dark? What happens when someone decides...yes.. I can do this because I can. I just had the pleasure of listening to The Passage written by Justin Cronin, and what a listen readers! The narrators of this book were Scott Brick, Adenrele Ojo, and Abby Craden top notch indeed. They really brought this story to me and kept me glued to my headphones for days straight. This book was lacking absolutely nada it was just so packed with detail and story after gripping story. This readers is a book about a catastrophe and then survival. This is a story about a girl...but isn't it always? Before she was a 1,000 years old she was just a little girl she was just Amy.. of course there was a middle name and even last name, but as time goes on no one remembers these or wants them to be remembered. Amy is a six year old girl abandoned by her mother, but there's a story there too readers and it's so sad and sadly so common. The story jumps in the beginning readers so much that I wasn't quite sure what I was listening to or where this was going, but right off the bat my heart was pumping and preparing for me to run to follow these characters in this terrifying tale. The world is just so normal it's a bit more in the future, but still we can all totally relate to this world Cronin is introducing us to. It's amazing how out of love true horror can be born from good intentions... the road to hell is paved with good intentions and all that. There is something very shady going on and some shadowy figures are looking to bring Amy to them to be part of a very special experiment. She's nobody so what does it matter? And, what does it matter that you feel that tickling in your throat that feverish chill and pain in your stomach? What does it matter, cause after all you're not sick you're absolutely fine right? This experiment this program brings upon the apocalypse and even though a Special Agent Brad Wolgast tries to save Amy, well...things don't work out the way we think they will. Ofcourse the end of the world as we know it occurs, wouldn't be much of a plot if that didn't happen. This book was like two or three in one... and how quickly society falls apart how quickly we forget... we just want to survive to live... but it seems like in that survival in that forgetfulness we are always forced to live it again. Even with a little piece of salvation how quickly we turn on our own and are ready for more blood shed when there are so few to spill it.  The odd thing is readers it seems like for all the horror man has created there's some invisible force something that is left behind to help humanity to help the world, but why? Who or what is helping these people? I use help veeeeery loosely cause this cast of characters have no picnic whatsoever if there's a moment of happiness readers just wait...it gets worse.  Amy is forced to walk alone across the world across time, and as a little girl she is burdened with a terrible knowledge that only she has the power to save the ruined world. There are several narrative voices throughout this story, and each of them were just so normal. I won't spoil this book for you it's a fabulous end of the world story and there's so many layers you won't be bored.... you might want to stay in the sun, have a blade, a gun, and pray the sickness doesn't come to you.


Friday, November 1, 2013

It's Not Enough (The Clover Leaf Café, Book 1) Written by Melissa F. Hart


Well, keeping with the sign of Scorpio readers let’s start this fall month off with a little saucy read… The one night stand, no strings, the successful business person who uses everyone to satisfy their carnal appetites, but that’s okay because people expect that of them, and sometimes you just need to itch that scratch. Who hasn’t at one point or another just wanted to be wanted and to have their desires met and then go on with their merry lives? Some may say that cheapens sex and the act of it, but that’s some people for others it’s just what you need sometimes. Jeff Masterson is such a man he’s a very blessed man indeed extremely successful, extremely handsome, and extremely good in bed. Jeff is a man who has a reputation for never taking the same woman to his bed twice, and still women go to him. That is except for Lisa Smith a local waitress in the town Jeff lives whom never flirts with Jeff if anything she appears to be hostile towards his teasing and flirtation nature. Lisa is leggy, intelligent, sassy, and oh so sexy, and until recently she had a steady relationship, but now that’s all over. Lisa is feeling less than herself and rejected and then she thinks she knows just what can help her feel better to make her feel desirable. Lisa has decided a one night stand with no strings is exactly what she needs what she need is Jeff. There’s more to this story than just good non emotionally messy sex readers. This tale has some deeper issues below the surface that both characters portray, of course the erotic scenes are quite enjoyable, but the fact these two are actually real people and not quite so fantasy and otherworldly makes it just a bit more raw and interesting. So, what’s going to happen with the one stand be enough? Or, are these two very normal people going to have to face what a lot of people have to face? Feelings.

Thursday, October 31, 2013

The Lure of the Moon, Book 1 of the Scripter Trilogy Written by: Melinda Clark & Nicole Gull


Hello Readers, my, my, Halloween is here and most of us are donning masks, makeup, and costumed garments to become for one night and day someone else. It is a day/night when we can become whomever we want to trick those around us and do what we might not otherwise do, or just have a damn good time tricking, scaring, and partying…be it with family, friends, or strangers. Now, imagine if you actually had the ability to re-write your life, that what you imagined could actually become reality? We are introduced to Ava Baker, and the first few pages in this book readers are the real set up for this book…the story tells us it is going to be action packed and tragedy is coming….but then it’s all normal that big boom of a beginning is swept aside. Ava Baker after having uncovered and writing in a three thousand year old book travels into what she believes is a very vivid dream born of her imagination. Ava has always loved writing it is her escape from a not too happy childhood no fault of her grandparents, mother, or aunt, but this poor girl seems to just attract tragedy. The first time she writes in this book Ava is transported to a different place and she is just drawn to it and to a sexy young man named Collin whom she also believes is just in her imagination. Collin is drawn to Ava too and their mutual affection it seems has them bound to one another and draws them to one another time and time again…and this connection is something more than either one can explain. The book itself seems fairly normal Ava is going off to college she’s living with her best friend and her other best buddy lives down the hall and they talk about the normal stuff girls their age do, and they do things normal girls their age do, but there’s also something a bit off with Ava and her world. Then Collin divulges secrets to Ava that her family should have shared with her, and by them not doing so could possibly have put Ava into greater danger. Is this all real readers? Or, has Ava snapped? Is she crazy like her mother was? The book itself holds a lot of promise this is an interesting topic, but sadly the whole Collin and Ava relationship was just reaaaaaaaaly over played. I know readers when you love someone they become your world and that’s all that matters and you just want to shout it to the world…especially when in Ava’s situation she really can’t so of course her love and emotions will be the focal point we’re subjected to, but c’mon we’ve got thousands of years of history, secrets, missing people, crashing friendships, Secret warring societies, and a whole new world that is Ava’s birthright… and yet it’s mostly Siiiiigh Collin :Insert Big dreamy eyes battering eyelashes look: I wish the book would have focused a little bit more on plot and a little less on the magic that is Collin. But, what plot we were given was entertaining, though there was something lacking in this story there was so much potential and so much mystery I think the authors for fear of given away the big secret held just a little too much back. Still, I’m interested and do wonder what will happen to Ava and what exactly her family’s deal is. A world where two sects control almost everything and possibly history itself? Sure, what’s not to be interested in?

Monday, October 28, 2013

19 Minutes Written by: Jodi Picoult

“In nineteen minutes, you can mow the front lawn, color your hair, watch a third of a hockey game. In nineteen minutes, you can bake scones or get a tooth filled by a dentist; you can fold laundry for a family of five....In nineteen minutes, you can stop the world, or you can just jump off it. In nineteen minutes, you can get revenge.” The threat is more often than not always from the inside…not the outside, but so many believe otherwise. We’ve all at some point in time been the butt of someone else’s joke, and maybe we’ve even been hurt emotionally or physically by someone else in school while growing up. Children are sent to these places these schools to be educated to be taught how to survive in the real world, but what parents forget is that the real world is a cruel place not everyone gets along there is always someone better at something than you and there are always clicks and exclusions, but unlike the real world school is a place where you cannot get away and simply avoid someone it is a place where you may have to face your tormenter day after day for years. Perhaps even some of us have ourselves been the bully. I admit and not with pride either readers that as a small child before I even made it to school I bullied this one girl because she was so much bigger than me and I wanted to fit in with the kids better in my neighborhood… that poor girl finally left our area, but thankfully I would see her years later and get to say “I’m sorry.” I’m only glad this was before we started school so she had the chance to go on and do her own thing without my bratty antics to hinder her. It almost seemed like justice later on when I was beaten bloody by some boys on the playground. Those boys themselves would later on be bullied by other individuals one of them even was expelled from school later on for getting involved in a fight where a kid he was teasing lashed back at him… you see it as a kid in school the teasing, taunting, the clicks, the betrayals from people you trusted, or thought you could trust. Now, imagine if you will if you were bullied everyday of your life from the first day of school right up until High School perhaps some days were better, and by better no one noticed you in order to pick on you. What would that do to you? Maybe you would have one or two friends, but mostly you would just be an outcast, but that’s just typical school stuff right? Just kids being kids, the teachers and your parents might try to help, but perhaps they figure well that’s just how it is, toughen up and it will get better. School isn’t forever. But, what happens when it doesn’t get better? How do you look at the past 9 years and see 2 more years just like it, and perhaps it will just continue? What then? In Sterling a small town in NH where nothing really happens, at least that is until this town is shattered by a shocking act of violence. Afterwards the town residents must not only seek justice in order to begin the healing but also come to terms with the role they played in the tragedy. For them, the lines between truth and fiction, right and wrong, insider and outsider have been obscured forever.” I actually disagree completely readers, I think Jodi Picoult was trying to go for this, but most of the time the events that have you realizing this wasn’t just a monster acting out are not given to the public only to us the readers who get to see everything. I was very disappointed with how little the community actually was involved with the aftermath of this tragic event. There was what was expected but I didn’t see a lot of what I haven’t read in the papers or seen on the news, there wasn’t a lot of depth the public involved saw that I felt like spectators don’t see. The other description of this book too also led me a bit falsely I think “Josie Cormier, the teenage daughter of the judge sitting on the case, could be the state's best witness, but she can't remember what happened in front of her own eyes. And as the trial progresses, fault lines between the high school and the adult community begin to show, destroying the closest of friendships and families.” Perhaps a little of this happens readers, but again it’s mostly with those who are involved, I understand our justice system is supposed to be blind and impartial and fact based, but it felt like there weren’t enough facts presented and the characters were all clearly doing what they could for themselves, and it also seemed like a lot wasn’t learned… I’m not siding with the main character who I will let remain nameless and faceless in this review, but there is an understanding that something anything may have been done in order to prevent such a heinous last resort acted out in violence, but instead of focusing on how to prevent this or why this happened this book seems to focus more on a mother and daughter’s relationship… very interesting, but there was a lot that could have happened, it was a good book and made you think as Picoult’s do, but unlike other of her books I’ve listened to this one felt a little flat and unwilling to really create a real controversy, but instead make it something that we too just have to live with, but in that readers I see the brilliancy, because when an event that occurs like the one in this book we as a community, state, nation, do have to just deal with it, and how we deal with it is up to us, because as we’ve learned over the years it might happen again, so maybe instead of walling in ourselves in more and looking to type cast a victim (which readers Picoult did a great job in type casting the victim and villains it was so cliché) as a villain we should be trying to prevent these acts by simply doing something that never occurs in this tale.. compassion, understanding, an outreach program, because a cement wall, an access card, a plague in remembrance can only fix so much and these usually happen after. I’m not saying go looking for these kids and type cast them no, because even a popular kid could be just as much as a monster a perfect child with great grades, wonderful in sports, good looking, can be just as isolated and confused, but how can we change this behavior? I don’t know readers, again Picoult presents us with a question, and again there’s really no one answer, and again we have to decide for ourselves, what would we do, and what can we do? The reader was one this time rather than a cast of people I’ve become accustomed to with Picoult books a Carol Monda, and she did wonderful so I do tip my hat to her as she set a very good pace, tone, and knew how to add to such a tragic tale. A very raw book indeed readers, I definetely enjoyed the controversy of it.

Sunday, October 27, 2013

Christmas Choices When Naughty Becomes So Nice Written by: Melissa F. Hart


Hello Readers, forgive me for reading a Christmas tale before Halloween, but I just couldn't resist reading this little juicy tale. We'll call this my erotic Nightmare Before Christmas moment...cheesy as that sounds.  Andie Nichols is going stag... to the big yearly Christmas party as she finally broke up with her controlling boyfriend Evan...whom readers was a real controlling jerk. But, now Andie fears seeing Evan at the party and maybe just maybe she made a mistake? During her painful attempts to avoid Evan Andie meets Ryan Miller...and kisses him just to stop herself from the humiliation of seeing Evan by herself. Ryan is shocked but, he likes it. It just so happens these two have some amazing chemistry and leave the big party together. Ryan reveals a secret to Andie which turns out to be quite shocking as Ryan tells Andie he likes a woman who isn't afraid to demand what she wants, and now he's offering to be Andie's own personal sex slave. Can Andie put herself out there like this and admit she likes being in charge? Can Andie be a little naughty so Ryan can make things oh so nice. It's a fun tale readers and builds up quite a bit with some fascinating developments in Andie's life both in and outside of the bedroom, quite the little drama readers quite educational and very saucy. I want to see what happens to these two people. 

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

The Alienist Written by: Caleb Carr



Hello Readers, I hope this Fall Season find you all well and ready for All Hallows Eve, only a week away. I recently found myself in NYC and I must say…it’s not the place for me, the noise, smells, people, lack of trees…just not for me I grew up with Trees and fresh air and though I enjoy clubs, dancing, parties, etc… I like being able to breathe in fresh air when I leave these places. Not saying NYC isn’t nice and impressive, but not for me… that being said after having Finished this most recent book The Alienist I can say Old Time NYC was most certainly not for me. The year is 1896 On a cold March night New York Times reporter John Schuyler Moore is summoned to the East River Dr. Laszlo Kreizler together they view the horribly mutilated body of an adolescent boy, a prostitute from one of Manhattan's infamous brothels. This latest book the Alienist I found myself just completely absorbed in this tale and there were so many larger than life figures in this book I found myself researching the characters and NYC while reading! The Author Caleb Carr transported me to a moment in history when the modern idea of a serial killer was being discovered and penned. I followed the team who were investigating a string of horrific murders going back who knows how far and watched them frantically piece together a far complex puzzle that of a man or woman before they killed again and again and so forth. The police commissioner, Theodore Roosevelt, in a highly unorthodox move, enlists the two men in the murder investigation, counting on the reserved Kreizler's intellect and Moore's knowledge of New York's vast criminal underworld. Though Moore himself thinks he’s quite useless at times. They are joined by Sara Howard, a spitfire take no nonsense can curse with the best of them lady who is one of the first female secretary’s in the NYC Police department. There were so many wonderful chapters, sentences, and overall ideas and setting that I simply felt engrossed in the story. I even got to read this book in NYC which added a touch of atmosphere I usually don’t get to always enjoy while reading. I’ll restate a note the author makes in the very beginning of this book… “Prior to the twentieth century, persons suffering from mental illness were thought to be “alienated,” not only from the rest of society but from their own true natures. Those experts who studied mental pathologies were therefore known as alienists.” If this book is based on even a quarter of the facts surrounding Alienists and their patients and how NYC officials, Church leaders, and families in general acted, then sadly we’ve only evolved so far in society, but at least we have evolved. This book questioned the home, community, and society… do men who are mad create acts of violence or are men who suffer from the acts of violence made mad? The classic forgive me for using it chicken and the egg question, of course some men are mad and some men are made mad, but it seems that even today it is much easier to blame a mental illness rather than parents, schools, society, our community…why? Because readers, if a person is simply “Not right” then it is so much easier to see why they would act in violence and madness rather than someone who was made to act violent, because that readers means we need to fix something or perhaps we ignored what needed to be fixed? The Alienist touches upon this concept quite a bit with several cases and examples of such and the Alienist Kreizler even states that the public will “wish him to be mad” when he’s observing a rather horrific case. The concept of America are also addressed readers at one point it is said “We are not obligated to provide everyone who comes to this country with a good life, we are obligated to provide them with a chance to attain that life, through discipline and hard work.” Sound familiar readers? There are a lot of heavy topics and subject from Native Americans, serial killers, what makes a killer, women’s rights, corrupt police, corrupt Church leaders, just a whole lot of topics that it seems are quite relevant to today. And, this group hunting this murderer are being threaten and told to stop their investigation, why? Because, Kreizler it seems is seen as a threat. Granted this isn’t a very old book so the author would have been trying to draw comparisons, but very little changes when it comes to society it seems readers, or at least with this book. The scenes set and descriptions were quite thorough and did not paint NYC into this grand city with a vast history, but rather a sweat shop filled with corruption and immigrants who were looking to live as best they could with what they could. Then you have this group of people one being Theodore Roosevelt (Love this former president readers) who are trying to stop the corruption and it seems to do that must also stop this killer. Quite the read indeed readers, I most hold back as I don’t want to give you any spoilers, and it took me a damn long time to figure out the puzzle pieces, but the author does a great job of not giving anything away either. So, a great book indeed and one that I think is wonderful to analyze not only the past, but possibly also present and future.

Monday, October 21, 2013

Twilight Eyes Written by: Dean Koontz


Why Hello there readers, what a month it has been, still haven’t even bought my Halloween costume yet! Still, at least the house is decorated, the pumpkins carved, and of course the candy is all ready (haven’t even opened and snuck a piece or two yet!) Still, to transform oneself into another person is not something that comes around just once a year for me, so if need be I can consult my collection of fun accessories and out there clothing/costumes…any who where it takes humans paint, clothing, jewelry, etc… in Dean Koontz Twilight eyes he has created or perhaps revealed a monster race, and one man who calls himself Slim MacKenzie can see these monsters. Slim can see what we cannot…Why can’t we see these monsters? Well because, they look and sound just like us readers, and until they wish to reveal themselves even internally on a cellular level these creatures appear to be what they mimic… us. Slim is not exactly ordinary he’s gifted or cursed with a special kind of eyes, and you will not forget these eyes as they are beautiful, but also because Koontz pounds into our heads just how special these Twilight eyes are… Slim’s eyes are also special because he is gifted with a psychic gift of premonitions and again he can see the monsters that are hiding amongst us, feeding on our suffering, and also causing our anguish. Slim has been on the run and has been seeking sanctuary within the circus/carnival circuit and we find Slim looking to reintegrate himself into a new Carnival, but instead of sanctuary Slim finds a hunting ground for the monsters he calls Goblins… But, perhaps Slim isn’t so lost perhaps he can find allies, or perhaps he will be betrayed by these so called allies…who knows whose worse us or the Goblins? These Goblins these monsters have a history a past that coincides with our own history, a history that is so crazy and farfetched that it appears that it might just be plausible. The story is pure poetry the descriptions Dean Koontz gives us are just so artistic and paint and fine tune a world that is so dark, but at the same time has bright moments that Slim steals whenever possible. The book in connection with time takes place between the 1960’s and 1970’s so a person can really be anonymous in this world and helpless without the use of their internet or cell phone connection to call forth help when needed. I’ve read quite a few books by Koontz and he always has quite the poetic descriptions and at times he really likes to nail home his points…and by nail I mean with a jackhammer. I understood what he was saying long before he finished some of his long monologues, but it was still cool to hear just how many ways he packed description into his scenes and internal dialogue. This story was quite interesting and was broken up in part one epilogue one and part two epilogue two, and for it being two books in one really worked, my heart sank quite a few times as characters will die readers and there will be blood and sorrow, but I will tell you this we have love at least. I enjoyed listening to this book as I borrowed it from Audible the narrator Malcolm Hillgartner was very talented and his pitches, tones, and even breath really set the mood of the story.

Monday, October 14, 2013

Falling for An Angel Angel At Large Written by: Melissa F. Hart



"I'm an Angel." Right...so, what would your response be if the sexy and oh so sensual guy across from you who had just kissed you were to say those three words? Probably crack up or think maybe it's time this date were over... So many shirtless men books by the way batman... I mean yeesh...shirts look good too, but ook moving on. Melissa is getting over her ex husband a major jerk who cheated on her not once, not twice, but the entirity of her marriage so beginning, middle, and end! Now, Mel's best bud Trina is trying to get her friend out of the funk that has become her social life. Trina isn't asking Mel to fall in love right away, but to just put herself out there, because if Mel doesn't then her ex has won, as Mel's ex has essentially ruined all men for her. Yuck. So, Mel decides to go out with Trina to meet this new hunky guy she's been going crazy over. Well, here's where you realize there's something very interesting about Trina's new beau turns out he is an Angel. The six foot tall dark-haired man Cassel has fallen in love with Trina, but there's a catch for him to be with her two of his fellow Angels Adrian and Kaine need to also fall in love, otherwise Trina and Cassel can't be together. Now, how does that make sense!?! So, we follow Mel and Adrian and we shall see readers, can they make it work and then there's also the issue of Kaine also finding a partner...oh also there's a time line to them finding true love! Right, cause finding True love is so easy... then again they are Angels. I enjoyed this tale with its supernatrual aspects peppered in and the sex scenes weren't hard either on the senses, but I just don't like that time line and that two people can't be together unless four others find one another...oy, still an amusing and quick read

Sunday, October 13, 2013

Hunter's Heart Written by: Melissa F. Hart

Hello readers, in keeping with the Fall and approaching Halloween decided to read some supernatural Erotic/Love tales. In Hunter's Heart we have Garrett a loner vampire, which in Hart's created world is unacceptable as lone vampires are little more than wild animals who must be put down or tried to be brought into a more civilized way of life by joining a clan. Garrett though, feels he is perfectly fine remaining on his own, he's survived 60 years on his own feeding from willing donors and animals leaving the humans alone. But, now he's become noticed by one of the vamprie groups he's avoided for so long. Can Garrett get away, or will he fall prey to not the coven's but to a female Vampire who has a mysterious power over him? I enjoyed this short tale though the dialogue was a bit okay VERY cliche at times and the story itself was just Internal dialogue and quick scene, internal dialogue, quick scene, BIG Conflict! Obivously going to be trouble.....aaaaaaannnnnnnd...The End. This is a series, but as a stand a lone short story with quite a steamy scene it's quite amusing, but Hunt has introduced us even if barely to a far more complex world she has created, perhaps I'll travel into her realm again, but it was an interesting and pleasant tale all the same.

Friday, October 11, 2013

J.S. Scott Riding with The Cop The Pleasure of His Punishment


J.S. Scott, well, I've read quite a few of this author erotic tales, but this one short story part of "The Pleasure of His Punishment" Series was a bit...well off putting. The story is about Lily Thompson a fourth year student in Forensics a lab technician in training and part of that training is she has to do a ride a long with an Officer in the Field. Her field mentor is Sergeant Jake Simmons. This is her last night riding with the Sergeant and Lily makes a mistake that could cost her her bachelors degree because she didn't follow orders, but now...that report might not have to be filed because the "Good" Sergeant has an offer that she cannot refuse, an offer that will give him and possibly Lily great pleasure. He'll make sure that report he has to write never gets written if she submits to him and does whatever he wants to her body.... Okay, Okay, I can see how this could be incredibly sexy, BUT! Big But here readers... that's blackmail and could even be considered rape, I had way too many issues with seeing an officer of the law who has promised to serve and protect and to take on a student as a partner for three nights to abuse his power... of course there's a bit of a twist here and a lot of passion, and the erotic scenes were quite steamy and sexy, but....just couldn't get past the whole aspect of how this tale seems to be. Sexy scenes and writing indeed, but this is a story that could turn oh so dark oh so quick so really sadly not my cup of tea, but if there were a perfect world and Lily had mentioned this were a fantasy of hers to Jake then maybe that would've been okay, but this is just well icky and quite scary.

Monday, October 7, 2013

The Green Ticket Written by: Samantha March



Hi! October, October, October! Yes! I love October, why? Well, it's fall and Halloween season, but....it's also so pretty. Halloween brings about a lot of changes in this recent book granted it's only one night in the book but it's an important one. College junior Alex Abrams has scored what she believes is her dream job and she's only twenty! It is a real life adult job with a 401k, health benefits, and paid sick and vacation wowzer. Alex is going to be the new manager of the very sophisticated spa Blissful. Alex is so excited to be manager but with the big grown up job comes a demanding and kind of sleazy boss Kevin Dohlman. This boss is quickly becoming Alex's worse nightmare...she's covering up his affairs, dealing with his enormous ego, and trying to protect the female employees. To make matters worse Kevin's wife Dani is a great lady and becoming a good friend to Alex, and soon Kevin begins paying Alex bribe money to keep his affairs a secret... phew, what a crazy work environment eh? Alex is a pretty good person and while dealing with the bliss world Alex is stuggling with school work and a new love interest whom just might be the ONE, and trying to keep close to her best buddies in the entire world. A great gaggle of ladies who have always been there for her and she for them. This book was cute in a man cheating on wife and college girls trying to find themselves kind of way...but it was amusing and passed the time. There were a few time jumps inside of the novel that were a little odd,  and it seems like a few scenes could have been added, but it was a decent novel that was teaching us about money verses morals. Not a bad example of what you should and shouldn't do in the real world of managing and working.



Thursday, October 3, 2013

House Rules Written by: Jodi Picoult

Hi Readers, hope you’re all just peachy keen, I’m amazed how quick time is flying! I simply don’t know how I’ll be able to read 10 books every month for the next three months and fit in everything else! I need to just give up sleeping… okay here goes my, what a book this was… though I’m not really sure what to think. I’m seeing a pattern in the way Jodi Picoult writes, she’ll take a topic of debate and turn it into a narrative a story that will just draw you in even if it is a work of fiction there’s a lot of facts in her tales, and she covers a lot of topics that are full of controversy both in past and present time. I listened to the Audio Book of this Novel and it was narrated by the talented voice actors Mark Turetsky, Nicole Poole Andy Paris, Christopher Evan Welch, and Rich Orlow…similar to a recent book I read by Jodi Picoult every main character was given their own voice actor and would demonstrate how they interpreted the other characters, it’s just genius how this is done now as it really does give you all sides and perspectives each character is feeling. What grabbed me to read this book was “When your son can’t look you in the eye.. does that mean he’s guilty?” Well, I don’t know usually yes, but then we take Jacob Hunt he is a teenager 18 an adult in the eyes of America and he has Asperger’s syndrome. What does this mean?
 Well, you will get quite the education while reading, but let’s go with a definition in this case… also known as Asperger disorder (AD), is an autism spectrum disorder (ASD) that is characterized by significant difficulties in social interaction and nonverbal communication, alongside restricted and repetitive patterns of behavior and interests. It differs from other autism spectrum disorders by its relative preservation of linguistic and cognitive development. Although not required for diagnosis, physical clumsiness and atypical (peculiar, odd) use of language are frequently reported. The syndrome is named after the Austrian pediatrician Hans Asperger who, in 1944, studied and described children in his practice who lacked nonverbal communication skills, demonstrated limited empathy with their peers, and were physically clumsy. The modern conception of Asperger syndrome came into existence in 1981 and went through a period of popularization, becoming standardized as a diagnosis in the early 1990s. Many questions remain about aspects of the disorder.
In Jacob’s case he’s hopeless at reading social cues or expressing himself well to others, though he is brilliant in many ways. And, his special focus at the moment is not winning him any expectance he loves forensic analysis. He’s obsessed with this show he loves and I must admit I have a show I like very much like the one Jacob loves too so nothing too crazy there right? Well, Jacob also has a police scanner and we find him going to crime scenes and will even tell the cops what to do, but then Jacob is the focus of the police because of a murder that has occurred. And, due to Jacob’s inability to meet the officers’ eyes or speak coherently his guilt looks pretty obvious. Now the Hunt family are in the spotlight and Emma, Jacob’s mother who has been trying for years to prove her son is just like everyone else has to now prove that no, he really isn’t….And, if that doesn’t hurt her enough her younger son Theo is becoming even more withdrawn and both of them are forced to question… did Jacob commit murder? I was very drawn into this book and its characters. The setting is VT so it was very easy for me to picture all of the locations, schools, etc, but what really drew me in what how detailed Emma and her Son were with their lifestyle so you knew exactly what this house would look like and how their life would be. I was a little disappointed to see several story lines dropped throughout the book though certain relationships just fizzled and looked like they were originally part of the tale, but changed at the last moment. Also, one question is never asked, which I can get had this question been asked there would have been no drama. Another problem I had with this book is the fact the author kept bringing up Vaccines for babies and children as the “potential” cause of Aspergers she skirts a very fine line between saying she doesn’t believe they cause this syndrome and that they do, I cannot stand people who insist vaccinations are causing issues with babies and children,… I’m not medically sound to prove they don’t but I know the medical community has debunked this myth quite a few times and to try and stop vaccination is just insane to me, but that’s going off topic I only gnashed my teeth a few times during this book because of this, but I really gnashed my teeth at how our current legal system and police were unwilling to try and understand Jacob… it’s a very question causing book, and is suspenseful to the very end, which is sadly a tad too abrupt but that’s how this author writes and it leaves you spinning and thinking… well…damn.